Bein HaMetzarim / Books / Food / Health / Rambam

Losing weight, nutrition and the RAMBAM on healthy Food

B”H
As all of you probably know, the awareness of healthy food has reached haredi society. More and more frum Jews are anxious to consume all kinds of foods strengthening body and soul.
This Shabbat is SHABBAT CHAZON, the Shabbat before Tisha be’Av and I cannot wait to finally enjoy some meat tonight and tomorrow. A delicious chicken soup or couscous with vegetables and meat. 🙂
According to Halacha, Jews should refrain from eating meat during the nine days. Except on Shabbat. I am a meat eater but I do not overeat. Once or twice a week some chicken shouldn’t do any harm. Not eating meat during the nine days isn’t difficult for me at all but when Shabbat comes, I actually do look forward to a good bite. 🙂
More than a year ago, I gradually started changing my nutrition. The main reason was losing weight and the second reason was building up some muscles. Not too long after, I did loose weight but in order to build up more muscles I should be much more exercising. But, how it goes, I am lazy and simply not in the mood to exercise on a regular basis. Well, I walk a lot but this is not enough. I bought 2kg weights and they already do serve their purpose. 🙂
Then I thought about looking for a gym but we don’t have too many in Jerusalem. Moreover, the reviews I read on the existing gyms were mostly negative. Expensive and too small. It would take ages until I get to this or that machine. Maybe one of you has an idea or an address ! I know it is not cheap but I am definitely interested and would sign up for a year. This way I would be forced and finally move my bum.
Anyway, exercising only makes up 20% when it comes to weight loss. The most important point is to change your way of nutrition. Lots of vegetables, minerals, vitamins and proteins. Not too much meat, bread or dairy products. However, I must admit that I would never become a vegetarian let alone a vegan. There is nothing wrong with enjoying some chicken from time to time. No overeating, of course, but normal quantities. The same with bread and dairy stuff.
Nevertheless, there are still plenty of frum Jews who need a lot of fatty foods on Shabbat. Without all that greasy stuff, Shabbat is not Shabbat for them. Fat meat, gravy and lots of Kugel. On the other hand, the Rambam and especially the Torah tell us to show an awareness of keeping our body in shape. It is a Torah command not to put ourselves into any unnecessary danger (e.g. bungee jumping, etc.). This commandment also includes eating healthy foods.
The Rambam used to be very much into the food subject and we find his instructions as a part of the Mishna Torah: In Sefer Hamada – Hilchot De’ot, Chapter 3 ff.
A while ago, I participated in a lecture on medieval food according to the Rambam
http://shearim.blogspot.co.il/2011/02/eat-healthy-according-to-medieval.html
The seminar took place at the Ascent Hostel in Zfat (run by Chabad). I definitely learned a lot and even began to eat according to the Rambam. However, after a few days I got so fed up and eventually gave up. Everything was just forbidden and went I went to the supermarket, there was hardly anything I could buy. 🙂
Only recently I bought a book called “The Jewish Guide to Healthy Eating and Healthy Living“. The book is based on the Rambam’s instructions. Although I do not agree to everything the authors state, the book does provide me with many new ideas and insights. It is a great read and very helpful. I even bought some Amaranth for the first time and thus still have to learn how to prepare it. 🙂 Furthermore, I bought an oat bread from Dr. Mark’s bread company (mentioned in the book). I don’t know whether Dr. Mark’s products are only available in Israel but the book stresses that Dr. Mark’s has an Edah HaCharedit Hechsher. And the price was the same as the Jerusalem TELLER bread.
Dr. Mark’s bread is available in many Jerusalem health stores. There is also a new health store (Duvdevan or Duvdevanim) in Emek Refa’im. The prices there are pretty reasonable.
It sounds as if I am a total health freak now but I am not. What I do try is refraining from fatty foods and especially from junk food and chocolate. Instead I prepare salads, sometimes noodles but mostly wild rice with vegetables. Nevertheless, I am going to write a few articles on the Rambam’s opinions stated in Hilchot De’ot where he writes that we should take care to eat and drink only in order to be healthy in body and limb. Therefore, we should not eat all that the palate desires like a dog or a donkey. Rather, we should eat what is beneficial for our body, be it bitter or sweet (Hilchot De’ot 3:2).
For those who are interested, here you can read the Hilchot De’ot online
 http://www.chabad.org/library/article_cdo/aid/910314/jewish/Deot.htm

Leave a comment