Jerusalem Photos / Shabbat Thought / Shabbat Times

Shabbat “Bereshit” Shalom !

20141013_122823
Photo: Miriam Woelke
The Old City of Jerusalem

 

B”H
In Israel, Sukkot, Shemini Atzeret as well as Simchat Torah are over and we are back to our daily routine. Today, however, is only half a day, as Shabbat is starting at 5.29 pm. Shabbat will end at 6.41 pm on Saturday night.
This Shabbat is SHABBAT BERESHIT and we start reading the Torah anew. On my German blog I have published Parashat Bereshit but I still have to translate the text into English. I won’t have the time anymore before Shabbat comes in but hopefully I will publish everything tomorrow night (Mozzaei Shabbat).
I admit that I had a really lazy Sukkot and didn’t do very much except reading books and going on a couple of trips. What I didn’t do was going to Tishes or Hakafot in Mea Shearim. The reason was that most chassidic groups don’t let any outsiders in on Yom Tov but only their own members. I think that guys are able to sneak in but the entrance to the Ezrat Nashim is a kind of secured and only group members are allowed in. Unless I get the Toldot Aharon female clothes. 🙂 Anyway, I wasn’t in the mood to squeeze myself through all the masses and rather go Tishing after Sukkot.
The clock is going to change at the end of this month. I think on 26th October. Then daylight saving is over but this won’t interest Mea Shearim, as many groups don’t participate in the “Zionist” daylight saving.
At the beginning of next week, I am going to publish all the pictures I took on my Muslim Quarter Old City tour. Two days ago, Palestinian youths smashed another window of a parked car in my street. Yesterday, lots of police and army were in my neighbourhood, as Palestinians started rioting again.
The world thinks that everything is quiet in Israel and that Palestinians stopped rioting. However, this is not true in Jerusalem. Since the last Gaza War, Jerusalem didn’t have one peaceful night but only riots. Last week, once again the tram got stoned. And there are Palestinian riots in the following neighbourhoods: Pisgat Ze’ev, Neve Yaakov, Abu Tur, Armon HaNatziv or Gilo.
Nevertheless, I think that ISIS is not the world’s biggest problem. As long as all the liberal leftists support Africans and no country wants to take action and close it’s borders, Ebola continues to spread. It looks like the world is only going to wake up after thousands of people die of Ebola.
Anyway, I don’t intend ruining our Shabbat atmosphere. 🙂
Shabbat Shalom – Git Schabbes !!!
Leave a Reply

