Animals

Going to a vet in Jerusalem

B”H
I was a bit offline since Thursday. The reason is very simple: A feral cat I usually feet had a severe leg injury and I took him to the vet. I just couldn’t see him suffering and getting him to the vet turned out to be a nightmare. Nevertheless, I finally carried the cat all the way yesterday and he was immediately put on antibiotics. The vet made an x – ray but the cat’s leg wasn’t broken, as I suspected. Instead a spider or a scorpion may have bitten him. The leg was totally swollen and he was suffering from high fever. For the time being, the cat is staying with me and tomorrow he is having another vet appointment.
For all those of you making Aliyah to Jerusalem, I am going to recommend my vet but be aware that it costs a lot of money. No matter where you go. 🙂
6 thoughts on “Going to a vet in Jerusalem

  1. B”H

    The vet was expensive although they gave me a 25 % discount because it was a street cat. However, I paid a lot of money for it. I think about $ 150.

    I will also get the cat neutered once he is healthy again. If he wants to stay indoors, I would take him but it is up to him. In the meantime, he already took over my armchair. 🙂

  2. Don’t worry, it’s not cheap anywhere. Since vets seem to have the same equipment as a well equipped operating theatre these days, the cost is becoming as high or higher than the Doctors (imagine an MRI scanner for a horse 🙂 . Hope your cat recovers and good for you for looking after it.

  3. B”H

    @ Isaac

    Where I go to, an ordinary check costs 190 Shekels which is approx. $ 60 or so. However, I have to give this vet credit, as he gives a discount for street cats.

    The horse price I rather don’t imagine. 🙂

    When I was at the vet a while ago, I saw a huge dog in the OP where they cut his teeth. I don’t want to imagine the price for that either. 🙂

    The cat got two more injections this morning and he will be fine in about a week or so. Next week I will take him again to get neutered. Then it is up to him if he wants to live outside or indoors. He actually looks very comfortable on my bookshelf. 🙂

    Nevertheless, one should think twice to get a pet, as the costs for a vet are tremendous.

    • Good point but once you have the pet, you have the responsibility. So, good for you paying and not ignoring. BtW, I live on a remote island far to the North of the British Isles. Our vet charged £110 for puppy injections, payable again yearly and we have 2 dogs. Microchips add another one off payment of about £40 each. Worth every penny. As for accidents, well, there’s always insurance.
      As for the cat on the bookshelf, sounds like the cat has made its choice.
      In passing, there’s an entertaining book “Thomas Grey – Philosopher cat”. Well worth a read.

  4. B”H

    Thanks for the book recommendation. 🙂

    Well, the thing is that his family (parents and siblings) live in our garden and there are times when he wants out to enjoy his freedom. However, he was not a true outgoing cat and rumbling around too much. For the past few months, I had put him a little blanket on my doorstep where he spent most of the day and night.

    A pet is a huge responsibility, I know that. And now since he is recovering, he is into everything. 🙂 The good thing is that I knew his character before. There is a guy on Youtube called Jackson Galaxy and he is giving advice on cats. He said something very interesting: People pick up little kittens because they are soooo cute. Once the kittens turn into cats, the same people dumb them because they are not so cute anymore. So, it would be better to adopt an older cat where you already know the character and not a kitten, later on, turning out to be a bully. 🙂

Leave a Reply

