Animals

Cat Grief

20141030_072650
Photo: Miriam Woelke

 

B”H
It will take me some time and, at the moment, I still cannot grasp it. Yesterday afternoon, I found the street cat Sparky dead on our parking lot in front of the building. He was already stiff and must have died in the morning or around noon. I don’t know how he died but my guess is that he fell off our porch from the first floor. People say that cats always fall onto their feet but, somehow, it didn’t work this time.
Sparky loved playing with his two siblings and together they were into a lot of mischief. πŸ™‚ Maybe it happened while their were rumbling around, who know. I was shocked and now I can understand every pet owner losing his pet. I started crying and couldn’t believe that one can get so used to having a pet around. Sparky was only with me for a month but I knew him since the end of April.
I continue feeding the rest of his family outside but, for the time being, I would not accept another pet.
5 thoughts on “Cat Grief

  1. I have found that replacing the pet as soon as you can is for me the best way to nutrize the pain. I lost my favorite dog awhile back and I miss him so badly I want to weep. I took in my sons dog while he is working in Spain. The dog is a pain in the butt he keeps me busy and gives me a reason to live. Pets are important to our sanity and brings out the best part of humanity. I belive pople who can love an animal can not ever love fully as a human
    Daniel

  2. B”H

    What a pet does is loving you unconditionally. You won’t find that with humans. πŸ™‚

    I am not replacing Sparky but I do agree with what you are saying. When I was a teen, I always had a hamster. As soon as one died, I was at the pet shop buying a new one.

    However, I still have Sparky’s family (mom, dad and two sisters) outside. They know that someone is missing but I think that animals get over it easier. They don’t live in memories but just continue life. πŸ™‚

    When I look at the scratch post or the litter box, I see Sparky and I could not replace him.

  3. So sorry to hear that. It’s truly amazing how quickly they work their way into your affections. Never forget him but perhaps, in his memory, you should when ready, get another cat. You’ll find there’s plenty of room in your heart for another otherwise unwanted animal.

  4. B”H

    @Sophia

    Thank you very much for the link !

    If you are familiar with the kabbalistic literature of the Arizal (Rabbi Yitzchak Luria) you will know that he refers to soul reincarnations in humans, animals, plants and stones over and over again. And this is why I already had thoughts like “Maybe Sparky’s soul had to do a Tikun and then go”.

    Okay, this sounds weird but it does help me. πŸ™‚

    @Isaac

    I am not throwing away the brand new litter box nor the scratch post nor Sparky’s little bed (which he never used). Maybe one day I will have another cat. At the moment, however, I cannot really imagine having another pet because I don’t want to go through this kind of grief again. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

