Terror

On the Terror Situation in Jerusalem

Israeli security forces stand guard as workers install a metal detector in the Muslim quarter of Jerusalem's Old City on October 8, 2015 following a spate of knife attacks. Stabbing attacks have deeply unnerved Israelis and authorities have struggled to prevent them, with the suspects often young Palestinians believed to be acting on their own. AFP PHOTO / GALI TIBON
Photo: Times of Israel
B”H
You can find them all over the Old City now: Metal detectors (photo).
I don’t think that this will help, as Palestinians live in the Christian and Muslim Quarter and already have all their weapons at home anyway.  
The atmosphere in Jerusalem is tense because we never know when and where a Palestinian is going to try killing another Jew. The most recent stabbing attacks in town took place near the Ohr Sameach Yeshiva. Tonight, on Erev Shabbat, I was planning on going to Rabbi Machlis for a Shabbat meal but I don’t think that I will make it. Not at night. I also have to walk home afterwards and my neighbourhood is right next to an Arab neighbourhood where stones and Molotov Cocktails are flying.
I know that we shouldn’t give in to Arab terror but what can I do? I don’t have a gun yet but only pepper spray. I heard that a lot of Jerusalem residents are buying pepper spray these days in order to be able to protect themselves in case an Arab is trying to kill them. Sometimes pepper spray is even sold out.
The moment I heard a loud noise, I am terrified for a few seconds. Especially after the Molotov Cocktail explosion on our roof this Monday night. Usually I couldn’t care less when Palestinians throw stones or burn cars in our neighbourhood but there are times, when suspicious noise really gets you because you don’t know what is going to happen next.
However, in Jerusalem we are used to a lot of Arab terror but not necessarily in our living-room. 
Leave a Reply

