Tel Aviv

The Grave of Israel’s famous pop singer ARIK EINSTEIN

B”H
Today, I was a bit on the road in Tel Aviv. I had some business to do in town but also took some pictures at the famous Trumpeldor Cemetery where a lot of local celebrities are buried. Not only celebrities but the cemetery is pretty small and it looks as if someone needs a lot of money in order to get a grave site. 
While I was taking pictures of the graves of Ahad Ha’am, Me’ir Dizengoff (the first Mayor of Tel Aviv) and Zionist leader Chaim Arlozorov (wasn’t it him having an affair with Joseph Goebbel’s later wife?), I was stumbling over another famous burial site: Arik Einstein, one of Israel’s well-known pop singers.

 

20160314_115938.jpg

Photo: Miriam Woelke

 

The red scarf around the tombstone symbolizes the local soccer club Hapoel Tel Aviv

 

20160314_115908

Photo: Miriam Woelke

 

3 thoughts on “The Grave of Israel’s famous pop singer ARIK EINSTEIN

  1. I went there a few years ago. I wasn’t sure it was really proper though. Anyway I found Shoshana Damari’s grave most exotic. I guess it was on the Westen side. About Arik’s, what is that large coloured thing on the stone ? Plus, why do people bring flowers to the graves in Israel ?!

  2. B”H

    Until I spoke to some other visitors at the cemetery yesterday, I didn’t even know that also Shoshana Damari is buried there. They asked me for the grave of Arik Einstein where I was just coming from. I don’t know if they found Shoshana Damari’s grave later on. I didn’t but I wasn’t necessarily looking.

  3. B”H

    Why people bring flowers?
    I guess they just want to make the grave look nicer. I don’t know.

    The same with the coloured stone. I think that someone especially made it and thought it would be great to put it on Arik Einstein’s grave.

Leave a Reply

