Book of Ruth - Megillath Ruth / Shavuot

Shavuot & Megillath Ruth

B”H
This year’s Erev Shavuot (Shavuot night) will be on June 11. As soon as Shabbat ends, Shavuot is starting. SHAVUA in Hebrew means WEEK and SHAVUOT is the plural (Weeks). 
On Shavuot, the Jews received the Torah at Har Sinai (Mount Sinai). In Israel we only celebrate the holiday for one day whereas Diaspora Jews add a second day. 
On Shavuot it is customary to read the Megillath Esther (the Book of Esther) in all Synagogues around the world. I haven’t really written too much about Shabbat or any other holiday within the past couple of months. The reason was a lack of time. However, now before Shavuot, I would like to catch up a bit. Not so much because of the blog but because I want to do something. And what I am planning to do is writing about Megillath Ruth. I have quite a few commentaries standing on my bookshelves and the time has come to use them.   
It sometimes seems that Megillath Esther is this nice little story where a poor girl marries a rich guy. Where a Moabite girl converts to Judaism, moves to Israel, takes care of her mother – in – law and basically gives up her home in order to start something new in life.
Nevertheless, Megillath can be extremely inspiring and even mystical. I have never studied it in depths and this is another reason why I decided to make a change this year.
2 thoughts on “Shavuot & Megillath Ruth

  1. You will probably receive comments, but I prefer to mention off the blog.I think you wanted to write “Shavuot & Megillath Ruth”.

  2. B”H

    Thank you very much for letting me know!!!!
    I corrected my stupid mistake.
    This is what’s happening when you type a blog post at work. I usually don’t do this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

