Death in Judaism

Burial costs in Israel

B”H
Burial costs in Israel are extremely high and I always wonder where all the people with no money are being buried. To be honest, I could not afford a burial plot for thousands of Shekels. Let alone for hundreds of thousands of Shekels. So, do people like me end up near the fence? I have no idea. 🙂
Another question is, whether I would invest in my own burial. Actually I prefer to spend the money while I am alive because one also has to enjoy life. 🙂
For those of you who are interested in Israeli burial costs, here is an interesting article:
http://www.globes.co.il/en/article-free-burial-in-israel-is-an-expensive-business-1001137703
3 thoughts on “Burial costs in Israel

  1. There must be many, many, many extremely wealthy people in Israel for all those involved in burial proceedings to be ongoing businesses. I don’t understand why anybody, except for extreme religious reasons, would pay those absolutely incredible prices for being buried.

  2. B”H

    Wealthy people?
    I am not sure about that. 🙂
    Most people hardly make ends meet.
    Honestly, I have no idea how people are able to afford all these burial procedures.

    @Eran

    Well, better a wall than nothing. 🙂 What can we do ? The truth of the matter is that there are plenty of wall burials, as space on Jerusalem cemeteries is extremely limited.

Leave a Reply

