Rosh Hashana

Shana Tova – Happy New Year

dsc00528

Photo: Miriam Woelke

B”H
Rosh Hashana is approaching and I am making my last plans for the holiday. I will be running to the supermarket early in the morning. Get the last shopping done and get back home as fast as I can. I doubt whether this is possible, as many Israelis are planning the same. Thus, supermarkets will be packed and I can already see the long line ups in front of the tills. 🙂
I am planning on going to a litvishe Synagogue service in the Old City. Lots of police and army will be around because the Muslims celebrate their new year. As soon as there is a Muslim holiday, Palestinians like to freak out. 
Every Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur, my neighbourhood is closed off and we have checkpoints with border police cops. Many Synagogues have their private guards. So does the Great Synagogue in downtown Jerusalem. Don’t be surprised when you go there and see guards with machine guns standing in front of the main entrance door. 
To be honest, I am not going crazy over Rosh Hashana. I am going out tomorrow night. For a festive meal and the Simanim (Seder). In the mornings I am going to a litvishe service because I like their Rosh Hashana service. The same, by the way, on Yom Kippur. It is also great to be near the Kotel (Western Wall) and I very much enjoy the atmosphere. 
What else is to say? We pray and eat. 🙂
I wish you all a great, healthy and successful new year 5777! 
Shana Tova and Chatimah Tova – A happy new year and may you be inscribed in the Book of Life!!!
One thought on “Shana Tova – Happy New Year

  1. L’Shana Tova miriam may ha-shem grant you a blessed sweet new year with safety and finance and gut health b-h love sophia and the kids

Leave a Reply

